Travels through Myanmar III – Money Matters

Mandalay, Myanmar.

…continued from: Travels through Myanmar II – Before You Go

A word of caution…

     Continuing with my Myanmar theme and posts. If you are going to Myanmar, I can’t caution enough about bringing “new” money. I mean new, new, new. Brand spankin’ new. No creases, marks, holes, tears new. No folding and putting in your pocket new. Like no other country I’ve visited, and I’ve visited a few. This was a sign posted at the entrance to the Mandalay Palace. Maybe the best, if not the most ironic, thing is that most of the local money you will exchange for, Kyat it’s called, will be in worse shape than this sign. Much worse, but can be used without even a second glance or thought.

     I think the word in this sign is “punishement” (yes, check the sign, it’s spelled correctly). They take a bill with a little crease in it and they get …”punishe-ed”. That just sucks…

 September 27, 2010

…to be continued.
Next Edition: Travels through Myanmar IV – Yangon

5 comments on “Travels through Myanmar III – Money Matters

  1. Thanks for the post.I am planning on visiting Myanmar in the near future.And I have read all the money changing problems on Lonely Planet.But it’s nothing like seeing a pic.
    BTW any chance they accept any other country’s notes more easily?
    Specifically do you think they would accept Indian Rupees?

    • keerthikasingaravel,
      Honestly, I can’t truthfully answer that question with any kind of assurance. To the best of my knowledge, I would honestly say no, Indian Rupees are not easily exchangable. US dollars, Euro, English Lbs. and even Japanese Yen would be more easily exchangable. It’s almost like money exchange terms go by rumors there, and Indian Rupees are not yet “verified” as a good currency to exchange yet …at least last year. That said, things change quickly, and I may be outdated , but I would at least bring some other type of currency just to be sure. If you do bring just Rupees though, there is a large population of Indian businessmen in and around Bogyoke Aung San Market that I would almost be sure would exchange for local currency. Just a matter of how much time and effort you want to spend, as well as the kind of rate you would get. In my opinion you would inevitably get a bad rate just because they know that you are in a bind with the rupees…
      Sorry I can’t help you much there. The only other thing I would say is to contact the Strand, Traders and the Park Royal Hotels in Yangon before you go and ask them if they will exchange Rupees. Just remember that information can change in a second there and all depends on government diplomacy – I would at least bring a “back up” of dollars or euros just in case.
      John

  2. Thanks.I was planning on carrying USD’s.Just thought of asking about Rupees.When I visited Indonesia I had a real surprise.I had converted my Rupees to USD and AUD,only to find I would have done better bringing in INR.

  3. Pingback: Changes in Money Matters in Burma | The Travel Independently Blog

Leave a Reply

