Already Parted

Pashupatinath, Kathmandu, Nepal.

     For those who haven’t been: Pashupatinath.
     A holy Hindu site along the banks of the Bagmati River in the Kathmandu Valley.
     If your not familiar with the culture, and are headed there, the best advice
     I could give you is to just sit and watch. Take your time, don’t hurry through.
     It’s a fascinating place, in a spectacular setting with some of the most interesting
     people I have ever met.

 August 17, 2009

8 comments on “Already Parted

    • Snowleopard,
      Non-Hindus are not allowed in the temple, but that is just a small part of the whole complex. I did walk up to the temple steps, not gknowing where exactly I was going, but was kindly turned away by the people there. Honestly, if you go, not being allowed in the temple itself shouldn’t really be a concern as there is so much more to see in and around the complex. Wander around and take your time. It’s a fascinating place.
      Thans for the continued comments,
      John

  1. Wow! What an image. There is so much to this amazing planet and the people put upon it. Some of us are extremely fortunate to experience the various peoples and lands that God has created. I was offered only a short time to see other lands, but I am grateful for it. I was not paid for my adventures, although I wish I were so that I could have seen more, but I am now pleased to share what what little I saw.
    It really doesn’t matter to me where we come from, but I pray we all gather together when the last trumpet has sounded, and the God of Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob has called us together.
    Thank you for sharing ‘your’ people; I will try to share more of ‘mine’, although for far too long I have concentrated on God’s natural creation instead of its people. I know that they are not your people, or my people, for we are all God’s children, but we should share who we are, and who we are not. Our natural world will exist long after us, so it is we, the people of this planet, and our destiny, that is far more important.
    As it says in Ecclesiastes, Chapter 1, verse 4: “Our generation passeth away, and another generation cometh, but the earth abideth forever.”
    Those of us with the means should ‘capture’ God’s people while we can and are able. God says this planet will endure; I believe that, but we will be replaced. I would hate to think that each generation is not important, and that our endeavors are a waste of time. It is the PEOPLE of this planet who are important.

Leave a Reply

